carrot cake muffins

Hello readers!  I have another recipe for you: carrot cake muffins!  To me, this seems very “spring-y”; you don’t eat these in December, that’s for sure.  The weather here in Chicago has been incredibly warm, I’m talking like 80+ degrees.  Apparently this is a record-breaking high, and I don’t doubt it.  But I’m not complaining, it’s amazing!  So my mom made these muffins the other day, and I’m not going to pretend like I did, but they are delicious.  Also, the recipe isn’t my own either.  If you are looking for healthy, grain-free recipes I would recommend checking out Elana’s Pantry.  She predominately uses almond flour, which is a spectacular grain replacement in most cases, as it takes on a very grain-like texture when baked.  I’ve found that it works especially well with coconut flour, however, this recipe relies solely on almond flour.  Also, I did make a cream cheese frosting to top these off, but it was too dark by that point to take a picture.  You’ll just have to trust me that they were delicious!

As I said, this recipe is not my own and is originally found here, as an actual carrot cake.  Elana also has a cupcake version here, but when we made these we used the cake recipe and just made a lot of muffins.  You could alternately half it to make less.

3 cups blanched almond flour
2 teaspoons celtic sea salt (I find this too salty and just use 1 tsp)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
5 eggs
½ cup agave nectar (or honey to taste)
¼ cup grapeseed oil (or melted coconut oil)
3 cups carrots, grated
1 cup raisins
1 cup walnuts (optional)

  1. In a separate bowl, mix together eggs, agave and oil
  2. Stir carrots, raisins and walnuts into wet ingredients
  3. Stir wet ingredients into dry
  4. Place batter into 2 well greased, round 9-Inch cake pans
  5. Bake at 325° for 35 minutes
  6. Cool to room temperature and spread with Elana’s cream cheese frosting or coconut cream frosting for vegan option
  7. Serve

I hope you try these out and enjoy them as much as I did!  Almond flour is a great way to eat grain-free but never sacrifice on delicious taste. :)  Have you ever baked or cooked with nut flours before?

Leave a Reply

